The 2022 NCAA Division I women’s tennis championship teams have been revealed

The NCAA Division I Women’s Tennis Subcommittee has announced the 64 teams and 16 locations for the 2022 NCAA Division I Women’s Tennis Championship. According to NCAA regulation, the top 16 seeds are guaranteed to host if a bid is received and all conditions are satisfied, and conference opponents were avoided in the championship’s first two rounds.

The first and second rounds will be held on May 6-7 or 7-8 and will feature four teams competing in a single-elimination format. Each site’s champion advances to the super-regional tournament on May 13 or 14. Each super-regional location will host two teams that will compete in a single-elimination tournament. The super-regional champions travel to the Khan Outdoor Tennis Complex in Champaign, Illinois, for the national final May 20-22. The University of Illinois in Urbana-Champaign will host the event.

Contests shall be dual regulation matches. Three six-game sets of doubles will be played for one team point, followed by six singles matches, each worth one team point and contested in the best of three sets. At six games apiece, no-ad scoring will be utilized and a seven-point tiebreaker will be played (first to seven points must win by two points). Four or more team points earns a team a spot in the final bracket.

All matches will be halted following the determination of the doubles point throughout the championships. All remaining individual bouts will be suspended once a team champion has been declared (four points won). Only completed matches will be included in the score. The official bracket, which is accessible at, includes a complete list of teams and sites.



Written by Joe Tussing

Joe Tussing is a former professoional MMA fighter and current trainer with more than 20 years experience in combat sports. Tussing is a writer, reporter and MMA personality living in Las Vegas.

Keyontae Johnson has registered with the NCAA’s transfer portal

Missouri State baseball defeats Arkansas Razorbacks