CFB News: College Football Playoff Selections Announced

LSU, Ohio State, Clemson, and Oklahoma will compete for the National Championship

The College Football Playoff is officially set. The selections were announced Sunday morning, and they were just about what most people expected.

No. 1 LSU will host No. 4 Oklahoma in the Peach Bowl on Dec. 28. Oklahoma snuck into the CFP thanks in part to a dramatic 30-23 overtime win against Baylor in the Big XII Championship game and No. 5 Utah’s 15-37 loss to Oregon in the Pac-12 Championship. LSU all but solidified their number one ranking with their dominance over Georgia in the SEC championship.

The second semifinal game will feature No. 2 Ohio State and No. 3 Clemson in the Fiesta Bowl. Clemson is the defending national champion and with Dabo Swinney’s recent comments about feeling disrespected by the media, look for the Tigers to have a chip on their shoulder. This is also Ohio State’s first time back in the CFP since winning the inaugural playoff in 2015.

There will be no lack of star power in this year’s playoff. You have Heisman candidate Joe Burrow for LSU, Ohio State’s Chase Young and Justin Fields, Clemson’s Trevor Lawrence is still one of the top quarterbacks in the nation, and Jalen Hurts is back, this time as a Sooner.

Written by Andres Soto

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Ole Miss News: Lane Kiffin Named Head Coach

Panthers News: Panthers Looking to Trade Cam Newton in Offseason