NCAA allows for alterations to conference championship games

No longer must college football teams win their division to qualify for their individual conference championship games. The NCAA Division I Council has agreed to enable FBS conferences to select the two teams that will compete in the conference championship instead of using division winners as the determining factor. Four of the Power 5 conferences — the ACC, Big Ten, Pac-12, and SEC — have divisions, with the division champions competing in the conference championship, although this arrangement may not survive for much longer.

Minutes after the announcement was made public, the Pac-12 declared that it will execute a modification in accordance with the new structure and explained how the decision was reached. The Pac-12 stated in a news release that the league initiated the move and that all FBS conferences supported the decision. The league announced that, in the future, the football championship game will feature the two teams with the greatest conference winning percentage.

Pac-12 commissioner George Kliavkoff stated in a press release, “Our aim is to place our two best teams in our Pac-12 Football Championship Game, which we feel will give our conference with the best potential to maximize CFP invites and eventually win national titles. Today’s decision is a significant step in the right direction and will instantly improve both fan engagement and media value in our Football Championship Game.”


Written by Joe Tussing

Joe Tussing is a former professoional MMA fighter and current trainer with more than 20 years experience in combat sports. Tussing is a writer, reporter and MMA personality living in Las Vegas.

The NBA reveals the 2021-22 Kia All-Defensive First and Second Teams

Hall Of Fame Coach Dick Vermeil & Looking Back At Super Bowl 56