Thursday, December 14, 2017
Cano and Maldonado Jr. face off tonight in Frisco, Texas.

Live Blog: Golden Boy on ESPN – Cano vs Maldonado Jr.

A big night of boxing rolls on with the Golden Boy Promotions main event tonight on ESPN. Pablo Cesar Cano (30-5-1, 21 KOs) will face off against Fidel Maldonado Jr. (23-3-1, 19 KOs) for the vacant WBC FECARBOX Super Lightweight Belt at the Tostitos Championship Plaza in Frisco, Texas.

I won’t be live blogging the undercards because while they’re up I’ll be live blogging Ward vs Kovalev II on HBO PPV.

As always, scroll on down for the live blog. Keep reading for the press release from Golden Boy Promotions and ESPN.

TOP GOLDEN BOY PROMOTIONS TALENT FROM ACROSS TEXAS SET TO SHOWCASE THEIR SKILLS SATURDAY NIGHT
TOP GOLDEN BOY PROMOTIONS TALENT FROM ACROSS TEXAS SET TO SHOWCASE THEIR SKILLS SATURDAY NIGHT, JUNE 17 AT FORD CENTER AT THE STAR IN FRISCO
TEXAS NATIVES JOSHUA FRANCO AND OSCAR MOJICA TO SQUARE OFF IN CO-MAIN EVENT FOR WBC YOUTH SILVER SUPER FLYWEIGHT TITLE
LOS ANGELES (June 13, 2017) – Top Texas contenders and prospects from across the state will come together this Saturday night, June 17 for an action-packed evening of fights from the Ford Center at the Star in Frisco.
As part of the Golden Boy Boxing on ESPN telecast, Championship hardware will be on the line in the all-Texas, eight-round co-main event as standout Golden Boy Prospect Joshua “The Professor” Franco (10-0, 6 KOs) of San Antonio faces off against Oscar Mojica (10-2, 1 KO) of Dallas for the WBC Youth Silver Flyweight title.
In the six-round TV opener, highly decorated amateur and super lightweight prospect Vergil Ortiz, Jr. (5-0, 5 KOs) from Dallas will search for his sixth consecutive knockout victory against Ricardo Fernandez (3-5-4) of Ciudad Juarez, Mexico.
Hoping to make TV, red-hot super featherweight prospect and Dallas native Javier Martinez (1-0, 1 KO) will appear in a four-round fight against Daniel Gutierrez (2-5, 2 KOs) of San Diego, CA.
Those three fights are in support of the main event in which heavy-handed super lightweights Pablo “El Demoledor” Cesar Cano (30-5-1, 21 KOs) and Fidel “The Atrisco Kid” Maldonado Jr. (23-3-1, 19 KOs) will battle over 10 rounds for the vacant WBC Fecarbox super lightweight title.
Off TV, a quarter of Texas prospects will fight to take their next step to stardom. San Antonio native Hector “El Finito” Tanajara, Jr. (9-0, 4 KOs), a super featherweight, will fight Eduardo Reyes (7-9, 5 KOs) of Reynosa, Mexico for six rounds. Austin’s own Travell “Black Magic” Mazion (11-0, 11 KOs) will look to make a dozen straight knockout victories to begin his middleweight career in a six-round fight against Fort Worth’s Even Torres (6-3, 5 KOs).
Dallas’ own Alex Rincon (1-0, 1 KO), a super welterweight, will step into a four-round fight against Austin-based Zachary Briones (1-3). Opening up the card will be two Texas fighters making their professional debuts, as Fort Worth’s David Fabela takes on San Antonio’s Zachary Lee in a four-round lightweight affair.
Cano vs. Maldonado, Jr., a 10-round super lightweight fight for the vacant WBC Fecarbox super lightweight title, is promoted by Golden Boy Promotions. The event is sponsored by Tecate, BORN BOLD and Hennessy, never stop, never settle. The bout will take place outside on Saturday, June 17 at Tostitos Championship Plaza at The Star in Frisco, Texas on ESPN 2 and ESPN Deportes starting at 11:00 p.m. EST/10:00 p.m. CST/9:00 p.m. PST. The ESPN3 and WatchESPN App coverage will begin at 9:00 p.m. EST/8:00 p.m. CST/7:00 p.m. PST.

The fights begin at 11 p.m. EST. I’ll pick them up around midnight. Watch them with me.

Summary
Event
Cano vs Maldonado Jr
Location
Frisco, Texas,
Description
A big night of boxing concludes with the Golden Boy Promotions main event tonight on ESPN. Pablo Cesar Cano (30-5-1, 21 KOs) will face off against Fidel Maldonado Jr. (23-3-1, 19 KOs) for the vacant WBC FECARBOX Super Lightweight Belt at the Tostitos Championship Plaza in Frisco, Texas.

About Adam Greene

Adam Greene is a sportswriter, photographer and humorist. You can email him (and you should) at adamgreenetfm@gmail.com

About Adam Greene

Adam Greene is a sportswriter, photographer and humorist. You can email him (and you should) at adamgreenetfm@gmail.com

Check Also

Saturday Night NFL Match Up: Chargers at Chiefs

In spite of both teams' best efforts, the Los Angeles Chargers (7-6) vs the Kansas City Chiefs (7-6) at Arrowhead Stadium Saturday night is a game that really matters...

Saturday NFL Match Up: Bears at Lions

Saturday NFL football? With the NCAA out of the way, why the hell not? The game itself may leave a lot to be desired, but sometime in March we'll be wishing we can watch the Chicago Bears (4-9) travel to Ford Field to take on the Detroit Lions (7-6).

Send this to friend